At Prairie Land Electric, your voice matters. Since 1938, we’ve been owned and governed by members like you. Your vote in our annual board election is your voice in your cooperative, a chance to weigh in on leaders who will represent you and your interests. 

Please vote in the trustee election each year. Details for this year's election are below.  Details for next year's election will be updated in November.  If you have further questions, please call our headquarters at 785-877-3323 or 800-577-3323.

The Bylaws of the Cooperative provide that the following positions will be elected in the 2024 Trustee Election:

District 2 – Decatur, Norton and Phillips counties
ERIC WITMER of Phillipsburg currently holds this position.


District 3 – Graham, Rooks and Sheridan counties
ROBERT PAXSON of Penokee currently holds this position.

District  4 – Jewell, Osborne, Mitchell and Smith counties      
OTTO LEVIN of Kensington currently holds this position.


District  5 – Republic, Washington, Cloud and Clay counties      
WILLIAM PETERSON of Clifton currently holds this position.



A nominating committee has been appointed to meet and nominate candidates for these positions. If you are interested in being nominated for one of the positions, contact a member of the committee to discuss your nomination. The committee  will meet on December 12, 2023 at 1:00PM in the Prairie Land Electric office at 14935 US Highway 36 in Norton, KS.                      

Members may call our office at 1-800-577-3323 to get a list of the current committee members and their phone numbers.

Nominations may also be made by petition. Interested candidates should contact the Norton office to request the appropriate form.

The petition must be signed by not less than  twenty-five (25) members of the district for whom the Trustee is to be elected. Petitions need to be delivered to the Norton office by 5:00PM on January 10, 2024. All nominations shall be posted in the Norton office.

The election shall be conducted on an “at large” basis; therefore every member of Prairie Land Electric is eligible to vote for all positions in the election. Upon completion of the nominating process, voting materials will be mailed to Prairie Land members by January 25, 2024. The Bylaws, as amended, require the use of mail ballots for Trustee elections. Ballots and a postage paid return envelope will be furnished for the member to use.

Ballots must be returned to the Norton office by 5:00PM on Wednesday, February 12, 2024.

An Election and Credentials committee will count the ballots by February 20th and the election results will then be announced.


2023 election winners:

District 1 - Mike Rogers

District 2 - Keith Ross

District 4 - Ronald G. Griffith

District 5 - Lowell Thoman